Faculty Assembly Delegation

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Annual Report to the UNC-CH Faculty Council, January 22, 2016

The UNC Faculty Assembly (FA) is the elected body of representatives of the faculty of the seventeen constituent institutions of the University of North Carolina. The FA was formed in 1972 under the leadership of President Bill Friday when all of the public senior institutions were placed under one Board of Governors. The Assembly, which now meets 6 times each academic year, is dedicated to upholding and exercising the principles of academic freedom, shared governance, tenure and the faculty's primary responsibility for the University curriculum.

Objectives and Functions (from the Charter of the Faculty Assembly)

- 1. The Faculty Assembly of the University of North Carolina shall gather and exchange information on behalf of the faculties of the constituent institutions of the University of North Carolina.
- 2. The Assembly shall, through appropriate channels, advise the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina, the General Assembly, and other governmental agencies and offices on matters of university-wide importance.
- 3. The Assembly shall advise and communicate with the President of the University of North Carolina with regard to the interests of the faculties and other matters of University –wide importance.

2014-2015 UNC-CH Delegation:

Bob Anthony- University Library (2016; stepped down August 2015); Jan Boxill-Philosophy (2017; resigned Jan. 2015); Bruce Cairns, Chair of the Faculty, Surgery (EO); Suzanne Gulledge-School of Education (2016); Beth Kurtz-Costes-Psychology (2015); Christian Lundberg-Communication (Alternate); Jim Porto – Health Policy (Alternate, Fall 2014; delegate-Spring 2015)

2015-2016 UNC-CH Delegation:

Alice Ammerman, School of Public Health, (2018); Bruce Cairns, Chair of the Faculty, Surgery (2017); Suzanne Gulledge, School of Education (2016); Jim Porto, School of Public Health (2017); Charlotte Boettiger, Psychology & Neuroscience (2016); Tim Ives, School of Pharmacy, (Alternate, 2016); Christian Lundberg, Communication (Alternate, 2016).

Steve Leonard, of UNC-Chapel Hill, is the elected chair of the Faculty Assembly.

This report summarizes meetings of the UNC- Chapel Hill Faculty Assembly delegation - both in caucus and at the Faculty Assembly meetings that were held in academic year 2014-2015 since January, 2015 and academic year 2015-16 through January 15, 2016.

Faculty Assembly Meetings and Delegation Caucus Meetings:

The Delegation of 5 members and two alternates elected to represent UNC-Chapel Hill in the Faculty Assembly meets for caucus, usually on the day prior to the meeting of the Faculty Assembly. The Assembly meetings occur at the Spangler, UNC General Administration Building in Chapel Hill on one Friday per month during the academic year. At the morning session of the Assembly, President Tom Ross usually addressed the delegates from the constituent campuses. He shared news, addresses topics relevant to the campuses and responded to questions from the delegates. General Administration staff members frequently offered reports and updates that typically relate to strategic planning, policies, procedures and data. The general sessions between January 2014 and January 2016 included panels with individuals whose work related to topics selected as themes and that included:

- Shared Governance and the Work of Faculty Assembly
- The Present and Future of UNC Academics
- The Minority College and University Today

Topics addressed in other reports and working groups include: tenure and post tenure review, length of contracts for fixed term faculty and job security, workload and faculty development and the work and tenure decisions that may be affected when faculty take on administrative roles.

Each committee of the Faculty Assembly includes at least one individual from the UNC-Chapel Hill delegation. Those committees are: academic standards and policies; academic resources; and governance. Chair of the UNC-CH Faculty Council, Bruce Cairns is a member of the Senate Chairs Committee and Jim Porto is a member of the Faculty Assembly Executive Committee.

The UNC-Chapel Hill delegation supported these resolutions passed by the Faculty Assembly:

- Commendation of President Thomas Ross
- -Governing Body Interference in Faculty Research and Service Activities
- Concerns regarding the UNC President Search

Issues determined to be of primary focus for the current academic year include: faculty salaries; working with the newly appointed President Margaret Spellings, defining and exercising our roles in shared governance, staying abreast of and informing the Board of Governors of the university' accountability and evaluation of faculty.

Additional discussions focused on online education, its challenges and degrees of implementation on each campus – whether as courses or degree programs. Academic integrity, student and faculty benefits and faculty compensation were emphasized in discussions about what to expect and what to aim for in online teaching and learning.

At the April 15, 2015 Faculty Assembly meeting, Tim Ives, UNC-CH, addressing Staff/Faculty Welfare gave an overview of the Faculty Welfare Committee and issues that are relevant on each of the seventeen campuses. Those include health insurance and child care.

The delegation and the Faculty Assembly have been and are concerned to note that although research and degrees awarded on the system campuses have increased, at the same time state appropriation per student has decreased for the last 5 years.

The system bond package proposal has been a topic of interest and the Assembly aims to create a catalog of contributions and positive impact on the state economy for which the university is responsible. Increased graduation rates are among the positive contributions. The UNC-Chapel Hill delegation was able to report graduation rates up and improved efficiencies around cost per degree and other measures of stewardship with state funds.

The UNC-Chapel Hill delegation to the UNC Faculty Assembly remains attentive to matters of concern in our Faculty Council and those of our campus constituents as well as those of the larger university system. We gratefully acknowledge the service of Prof. Steve Leonard from UNC-CH who has chaired the Faculty Assembly from 2013-2016. We aim to continue as a delegation to gather and exchange information and represent Carolina's unique and important role in the faculty governance of our University of North Carolina.

Respectfully submitted,

Suzanne A. Gulledge, Delegation Chair January 15, 2016